16.3 thEja: kshamA dhruthi: Saucham

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 16

<< Chapter 16 Verse 2

SlOkam – Original

thEja: kshamA dhruthi: Saucham adhrOhO nAthimAnithA |
bhavanthi sampadham dhaivIm abhijAthasya bhAratha ||

word-by-word meaning

thEja: – being undefeated (by evil people)
kshamA – patience (even towards those who harm)
dhruthi: – being firm (even in dire situations)
Saucham – having cleanliness (in mind, speech and body) to engage in activities (which are highlighted in SAsthram)
adhrOha: – not interfering in the noble actions of others
nAthimAnithA – absence of pride (such qualities)
dhaivIm sampdham abhijAthasya – for those who are having divine birth (to follow the ordainment of bhagavAn)
bhavanthi – are present
bhAratha – Oh descendant of bharatha!

Simple Translation

… being undefeated (by evil people), patience (even towards those who harm), being firm (even in dire situations), having cleanliness (in mind, speech and body) to engage in activities (which are highlighted in SAsthram), not interfering in the noble actions of others, absence of pride (such qualities) are present for those who are having divine birth (to follow the ordainment of bhagavAn), oh descendant of bharatha!

Rendering based on ALkoNdavilli gOvindhAchArya swAmy’s English translation of gIthA bhAshyam

‘Lustre, forgiveness, fortitude, cleanliness, non-interference, absence of self-esteem;— (these), Bhārata! become his who is born of the Divine kind;’

Abhayam = Fearlessness = the absence of that pain which is caused by dread at the prospect of the loss of what is dear to one and dread of what is hated may befal.

Satva-saṃśuddhiḥ = purity of heart = the reigning of Satva-guṇa in the antaḥ-karaṇa (heart), undefiled by Rajas and Tamas.

Jñāna-yoga-vyavastḥitiḥ = Settlement in the practice of devotion resulting from the knowledge which discriminates soul from matter.

Dānam = Charity = The giving of gifts to deserved recipients. -the property of one’s own legitimate acquisition.

Damaḥ = Self-restraint = The power of the mind to withdraw itself from, or oppose itself to, sense-objects.

Yajña = Sacrifices = The performance of the Mahā-yajña[1. The five Great Sacraments or Acts of Divine Worship ordained for every holy man are:- 1. Adhyāpana = The teaching of the Sacred Scriptures, etc., called Brahma-yajña. 2. Tarpaṇa = The oblation of water, food, etc., called Pitṛi-yajña. 3. Homa = The offering of clarified butter, etc., into fire, called Deva-yajña. 4. Bali = The distribution of food to creatures in general, called Bhūta-yajña. 5. Athiti-pūjana = entertainment of holy guests, called Nṛi-yajña. Vide Manu, III 69 to 73.] and other ceremonies, regardless of fruit, as service rendered to Bhagavān.

Svādhyāya = Sacred study, or devotion to the learning of the Holy Vedas, with the belief that they all teach of the Gloriful Bhagavān, and the Methods of worshipping Him.

Tapas = Penance = Rigid performance of such expiatory ceremonies as Kṛicchra[2. These are ascetic practices such
as Prājāpatya, Sāntapana etc., consisting in partial fasts, etc., prescribed in the Dharma-Śastras.], Chāndrāyaṇa[3. Several varieties of fasting regulated by the moon’s age. (Vide
pp: 59, 60, 100, 101 of Rājendralal’s Yoga-Sūtas, Engl: Trans).], etc, and keeping Dvādaśi-fasts[4. The fortnightly fasts and early breakfasts.] etc., which would qualify a person to be fit for performing other acts for the glorification of Bhagavān.

Ārjavam = Uprightness = conduct towards others, consistent in thought, speech and deed.

Ahimsā = Harmlessness = absence of causing pain or injury to others.

Satyam = Veracity = The speaking of bare truth beneficial to all beings.

Akrodhaḥ = Wrathlessness = Absence of resentment in the mind which may be caused by others giving pain.

Tyāgaḥ = Renunciations = The giving up of whatever is hostile or injurious to ātma (soul, or soul-advancement).

Śāntiḥ = Serenity = Keeping the senses in peace against distractions which a love for sense-objects would naturally create.

Apaiśunam = Slanderlessness = Ceasing to utter language calculated to injure another’s reputation.

Dayā = Sympathy for life = Condolence for grief, distress or misfortune of others.

Aloluptvam or Alolupatvam (lect:) = Alolutvam= Relishlessness or absence of relish for sense-pleasures.

Mārdavam = Gentleness = Opposite of hard-heartedness = Fitness for the company of good people.

Hriḥ = Modesty = Feeling of shame to do what is unworthy.

Achāpalām = Fickle-lessness = The remaining firm or not permitting oneself to be tempted in the presence of attractive objects.

Tejas = Lustre = The illustrious or radiant presence, resisting, or proof against, evil men’s attacks.

Kshamā = Forgiveness = The absence of revengeful feelings in the heart against those by whom one is subjected to suffering.

Dhṛitiḥ = Fortitude = The capacity to continue to do what is right under the stress of the heaviest of misfortunes.

Śaucham = Cleanliness = That state of heart and of the external senses, fit to perform Śāstra-enjoined duties.

Adroha = Non-interference = Not crossing (the purposes of) others, or not obstructing others in going their own cherished ways.

Nātimānitā = Absence of self-esteem = Absence of boasting or rating oneself high in places where doing so is unworthy.

Daivī-Sampat = Virtues or accomplishments that would belong to such as the Devas (divine beings), who are loyal to the Divine Laws, or Laws made by Bhagavān. The Sampat or (Virtue) of those who are godly is to walk, in the ways of such Laws.

Abhijātaḥ = He who is born conformable to this Divine character, or in harmony with the Divine, or who is born to walk the Divine Path indicated.

>> Chapter 16 Verse 4

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org