17.4 yajante sāttvikā devān (Original)

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 17

<< Chapter 17 Verse 3


yajante sāttvikā devān
yakṣa-rakṣāṁsi rājasāḥ
pretān bhūta-gaṇāṁś cānye
yajante tāmasā janāḥ

‘Those of Satvam worship the Devas; those of Rajas, the Yakshas and Rakshas; and then those of Tamas worship the Pretas and the hosts of the Bhūtas.’

Those in whom the Satva quality reigns, become united to the Satva-kind of faith, and they worship the Devas. That faith is called the faith of Satva, which concerns itself with the supreme bliss-fraught Deva-Sacrifices, —bliss unmixed with pain.

Those of Rajas-quality (similarly) resort to the worship of Yakshas and Rakshas; and those of Tamas-quality to Pretas and hosts of Bhūtas. The Rajas-faith is that which gives birth to some happiness but mixed with pain; the Tamas-faith is that which gives birth to little or no happiness, tantamount to pain itself.

Thus, fruits differ according to the qualities with which Sacrifices etc., are performed in faith, even when those Sacrifices are in accordance with Śāstra. (Lord Kṛishṇa) now declares what he had before reserved in his mind that not the smallest modicum of happiness attends the performance of anti-Śāstra penances, Sacrifices etc., inasmuch as they are opposed to His Mandates. Not only that no happiness results but positive evil attends.

>> Chapter 17 Verse 5

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org