4.7 yadā yadā hi dharmasya (Original)

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 4

<< Chapter 4 verse 6


yadā yadā hi dharmasya
glānir bhavati bhārata
abhyutthānam adharmasya
tadātmānaṁ sṛjāmy aham

‘Whensoever and wheresoever, Bhārata[2. Descendent of Bharata=Arjuna (see Geneological Tree at end of Lecture I).]!, virtue wanes and vice waxes, then (and there) do I create Myself.’

No fixed periods are appointed for My Avatāras. Whensoever dharma (righteousness etc.,) as is ordained to be practised by the four varṇas[3. The four varṇas are Brāhmaṇa, Kshatriya, Vaiśya and Śūdra.] and the four āśramās[4. The four aśramas are Brahmacharya (bachelor and student), Gārhastya (married life), Vānaprastha (retired forest life) and Sanyāsa (monastic or ascetic life).] decline, and wheresoever its opposite adharma increases, then do I manifest Myself in Incarnations, of My own free will, in the manner explained already (verse 7, ante).

The purpose of the Avatāras is now stated:—

>> Chapter 4 verse 8

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org