8.4 adhibhūtaṁ kṣaro bhāvaḥ (Original)

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 8

<< Chapter 8 verse 3


adhibhūtaṁ kṣaro bhāvaḥ
puruṣaś cādhidaivatam
adhiyajño ’ham evātra
dehe deha-bhṛtāṁ vara

‘Adhibhūtam is that which is of the nature of the perishable; and Adhidaivatam is Purusha (the enjoyer); and Adhiyajña in this body, is Myself. O Best of beings!’

By Adhibhūtam, —that which is to be known by the fortune-seeker (aiśvary-ārthi)— is that which is of the perishable nature, the transcendentally subtile principles of sound, touch, etc., with their supports —the senses— which are latent in the elements, ether (ākāśa etc.,), and develope therefrom. The subtile and transcendentally exquisite sound, touch, colour, taste and smell —with their supports the (senses)— are mentioned here as objects upon which the fortune-seeker has necessarily to contemplate.

Adhi-daivatam is Purusha; Purusha is the conscious spirit —the enjoyer,— whose status becomes above (adhi) the daivatas, the celestials or minor gods, such as Indra, Prajāpati and all such lower divinities. (Not merely above them in position but the) Purusha is one who becomes the enjoyer of rare and keenly exquisite (vilakshaṇa) delights of sound etc., surpassing even those that pertain to such celestials as Indra, Praāapati etc.[1. To him who gets riches through God, the delights granted are of such kind.]’

The fortune-seekers (aiśvary-ārthi) have to meditate on such a Purusha, as the enjoyer of subtle transcendent delights; and this is what is called ‘knowing the adhidaivatam‘.

Adhiyajña is Myself:[2. Vide Taitti: Samh: i-74 (yajño vai Vishṇuḥ).] The appellation Adhiyajña denotes Myself. It means that I am He, Who is present in Indra etc., that constitute My body— as He who is worshipped by sacrifices (yajñas.,)

The Adhiyajña is thus the Indwelling Myself and is He Whom all the three classes of My devotees (bhaktas) have to contemplate in all their acts of worship, viz: The Mahā-yajñās[3. Manu, iii, 69-71. The five Great Sacraments or Acts of Divine Worship ordained for every holy man are:- 1. Adhyāpana = The teaching of the Sacred Scriptures, etc., called Brahma-yajña. 2. Tarpaṇa = The oblation of water, food, etc., called Pitṛi-yajña. 3. Homa = The offering of clarified butter, etc., into fire, called Deva-yajña. 4. Bali = The distribution of food to creatures in general, called Bhūta-yajña. 5. Athiti-pūjana = entertainment of holy guests, called Nṛi-yajña. Vide Manu, III 69 to 73.], the Nitya and the Naimittika duties.

>> Chapter 8 verse 5

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org