10.6 maharṣayaḥ sapta pūrve (Original)

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 10

<< Chapter 10 verse 5


maharṣayaḥ sapta pūrve
catvāro manavas tathā
mad-bhāvā mānasā jātā
yeṣāṁ loka imāḥ prajāḥ

‘In the past, the Maharshis Seven1, and the Manus Four, were the mind-born those from whom sprang all this progeny in the world.’

The past is the past manvantara. The seven2 Maharshis are Bhṛigu etc, who were born from the mind of Brahmā (Demiurge) to inaugurate the Day-creation (of Brahmā). The Four Manus are those named Sāvarṇikas3 etc., the mind-born, as well, of Brahmā, appointed to look to the maintenance of the created Kosmos. All the people of this world are descendants from these. They create and sustain, (respectively) their off-spring, every moment, till the eve of Kosmic dissolution.

Bhṛigu, etc and the Manus are followers after My ideals. Hence they are those who are after My mind (mad-bhāvāḥ), or who share in My designs.

>> Chapter 10 verse 7

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org

  1. Sub: Up: I. ‘Sa mānasān sapta-putrān asṛijat’
  2. Sub: Up: I. ‘Sa mānasān sapta-putrān asṛijat’
  3. (1) Brahma—Sāvarṇika (2) Rudra—Sāvarṇika (3) Dharma—Sāvarṇika (4) Daksha—Sāvarṇika, are the Four Sons of Priyā, the daughter of Daksha. Also consult Tātparya Chandrika.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *