18.5 yajña-dāna-tapaḥ-karma (Original)

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Chapter 18

<< Chapter 18 Verse 4


na tyājyaṁ kāryam eva tat
yajño dānaṁ tapaś caiva
pāvanāni manīṣiṇām

‘Work, —Yajña, Dāna and Tapas, should never be abandoned; it must of necessity be done; for Yajña, Dāna and Tapas sanctify the wise.’

Never, by the Moksha-aspirant, are Vaidika-acts such as Yajña, Dāna, Tapas and the rest, to be abdicated; but must be daily practised until the last day of death. Why?

Because those acts pertaining as they do to the several varṇas and āśramas1 (‘castes’ and ‘orders’ of life) do purify the wise (manishiṇah) = the thoughtful or reflecting persons.

The thoughtfulness or reflection here meant is upāsana or religious meditation, in which the Moksha-aspirant is supposed to be engaged till the last. And the practising of Yajña etc., destroy the past deeds (karma) which hinder progress of the aforesaid upāsana.

>> Chapter 18 Verse 6

archived in http://githa.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org

  1. The four varṇas are Brāhmaṇa, Kshatriya, Vaiśya and Śūdra. The four aśramas are Brahmacharya (bachelor and student), Gārhastya (married life), Vānaprastha (retired forest life) and Sanyāsa (monastic or ascetic life).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *